top of page

Bach, Bach, Bach!


Today, I resurrected Bach...sort of.

Based on encouragement, I decided to get back into the heart of violin playing. Though I have played for years, been in orchestras, and taken and taught private lessons, I have not really dug into the main violin repertoire for quite some time as my focus was on completing a music therapy degree. In internship, I had the wonderful experience of playing violin in halls, waiting areas, and with colleagues for Environmental Music Therapy. I also played and improvised for patients. But the EMT I did wasn't usually classical.

Well, I'm one year out in the job field (working in the schools) and I am sad to say I haven't used my violin much. Today, I decided to finally change that.

Improvisation is one key element in music therapy. I LOVE improvising and the wonderful revelations and growth that occurs when utilized in therapy sessions. For violin, to be able to really improvise well, one must play well. And what better to work on then one of the most defining collections of music written for violin: The Bach Solo Sonatas and Partitas.

This is no small feat, especially for me, as I am admittedly a bit rusty. However, armed with a beautiful violin, thomastik strings (I'm exclusive to that brand), a recently acquired 2 disc set of Arthur Grumiaux playing the sonatas and partitas, and of course years of violin lessons under my belt, I decided to go for it.

Today's adventure went something like this:

Set up stand. Adjust stand. Set Bach on the stand. Adjust stand. Unpack violin. Wipe off my sweaty palms (I can do this...it's totally doable....) Tune for way way too long (curse you sticky D string peg!). Open to Bach Partita No. 2 in d minor (last of these I had studied). Breathe. Close Bach. Warm up with scales. Open Bach. Adjust stand. Play play play.

I think I played about 45 minutes, but I didn't actually time it. My muscles think I played for several hours. Tomorrow I am going to try this again.

I don't have a deadline, and I have no desire to give a concert at the end of this, but I do have a goal to practice at least 2 times a week. It may not seem like much, but it's something. And when several days add up to weeks, and weeks add up to months, my hope is my experience will lead me to be a better musician, and music therapist. Because in the end, I want to be able to provide for patients and clients to the best of my ability.

Stay tuned folks! #tammysbachproject

5 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page