top of page

Getting in Touch with your Inner Sloth: Thoughts on Work-Life Balance, and Mindfulness


How often have you encountered the term mindfulness lately? I notice it showing up in titles of books, as part of a marketing thing (mindfulness coloring book anyone?), and it seems to have seeped into popular culture as a buzzword. But how often do we actually practice mindfulness? Self-care is essential no matter what sector you are working, but for music therapists regional and national conferences often have sessions about just these topics. As another school year winds to a close, my mind often wanders to thoughts of warmer weather (well it's Texas so more like scorching weather), vacations, sleeping in, and doing lots of reading and writing. But I also think of my dear colleagues, and how everyone is running around trying to cram way, way, too much into about 25ish days. In the last push to the end of the year it is easy to lose sight of a healthy work-life balance. It's easy to feel guilty about taking a few minutes to yourself, or using that last vacation day.

I have to admit, I feel like I have the work-life balance thing down a bit too well (maybe bordering on sloth-like? Haha!). When I leave work, I leave work. And I don't just mean in terms of paperwork and not checking emails. I also mean I emotionally, and mentally leave work at work. Thus, when I get home, my mind is geared to focus on what I need to do. I may run errands, or launch into other activities that I love which help me to unwind and expand my horizons. Last year, I devoted time to take an online Braille course. It was hard, but so fulfilling! This year I focused more on reading, creative writing, or practicing violin and ukulele. I also try and squeeze in brushing up my French via some popular apps. But, as it does to all of us, time eludes.

For me personally, being able to create a balance starts with two things:

1. Finding something positive or enlightening about my work day for which I am grateful.

2. Looking forward to something completely non-work related each day after work.

What does that look like for you? For me this week I felt grateful for the enthusiasm of a few particular students regarding a songbook (yay literacy!). Then, I happened to look forward to my creative writing project, and digging into some Bach!

It's also equally important to know what you don't enjoy in terms of relaxing. For example: I really, really wanted to get into those coloring books. Who can resist the pretty colors, and come on folks, they have Doctor Who themed ones! (squeal) Coloring books are all the rage. And yet, I personally find them frustrating. Why? Well because I just cannot sit still and color. Okay, I can...but it makes me antsy like a toddler. Too many choices, and I always have an inner conflict with myself about wanting to branch out and be creative in the coloring, and also making it a pattern and symmetrical in some fashion. Oh, and it also requires patience. Which for coloring, and cooking, I do not seem to possess large quantities.

Some tips:

  • Take time to make music for yourself. Dig out your primary instrument! Play songs that have nothing to do with your work, just ones you enjoy.

  • Don't just follow the latest trend. Find activities that fit you and your needs.

  • This is important--Recognize your feelings about taking time out, and remind yourself that you matter, and your own health, and well-being matter. The laundry will wait, I promise it's not going anywhere.

  • Try this: I highly recommend going outside and just breathing. If you don't mind grass, kick off your shoes and socks and stand in the grass and just breathe. It's an actual technique called Grounding (also referred to as Earthing. Google it and you'll find lots of articles, and you can also read about it here and also here) and it is shown to reduce stress levels.

Feel free to comment with what works for you!

26 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page