top of page

Writer life with Helen Hoang

Updated: Nov 23, 2020

I recently had the honor of interviewing USA Today bestselling author, Helen Hoang. She talks about what inspires her, and even shares a recipe for her mother’s Bahn Flan.


Helen Hoang is an award winning author of contemporary romances THE KISS QUOTIENT, and THE BRIDE TEST. Her newest novel, THE HEART PRINCIPLE was recently announced. Her books can be found on https://www.helenhoang.com/ and at major retailers.



I absolutely adored your debut THE KISS QUOTIENT, and it’s follow up, THE BRIDE TEST. The books are a wonderful mix of sweet and spicy, but what I love the most is the authenticity and diversity of the cast. Do you think we’ll see any of those characters in future books?

Yes, the third book, THE HEART PRINCIPLE is about Quan. I'm also contracted to write books for each of Michael's sisters.


What inspired you to write? What inspires you still?

I've always loved getting lost in stories, romantic stories especially, and I think it's a pretty natural progression to go from reading stories to writing them. Lately, I write because I want to say something of impact. I want to make this world better than I found it if I can, even if it's in a small way.


Your books have so much heart, have nabbed awards, and you’ve even got a film deal in the works  Do you feel your successes will open doors for other authors with neurodiversities?

I hope my success opens doors for authors of color and authors with neurodiversities.


Some people handwrite early drafts or brainstorm with notecards. What’s your favorite way to plan and plot?

I'm a daydreamer, so my stories tend to run in my head like a movie while I'm supposed to be doing other things.


What’s the last book you read?

IF THE BOOT FITS by Rebekah Weatherspoon. I just loved it. It's such a perfect read for times like these, comforting, funny, lighthearted, sexy.


If you could chat with any author, living or dead, who would it be?

I don't generally like talking to people, so I'd turn down the opportunity if I could. If I absolutely had to pick, perhaps EL James. I'd like to hear how she dealt with the massive success of her books and kept her sanity enough to write future works.


Do you have an all-time favorite book, or a book you like to reread?

I don't think I have an all-time favorite book, honestly. Movies that I find myself rewatching include: Pride & Prejudice (Macfadyen edition), Amelie, Gattaca, and The Lord of the Rings trilogy. I also like to watch the new remakes of Jin Yong's wuxia series. My favorites are Return of the Condor Heroes, Heaven Sword Dragon Sabre, and Laughing in the Wind.


What advice do you have for writers just starting out?

Read a lot, write what you love, and work toward improving your craft.


What’s one piece of writing advice you purposefully ignore?

Write every day. This works for some people. It doesn't work for me. I've burned myself out forcing myself to write when I needed to rest.


If you could travel anywhere (once it’s safe) where would it be?

I'd love to go to Vietnam someday. I've never been, and I've always wanted to see the building where my mom had her old cafe in what used to be Saigon.


What’s a recipe that is meaningful to you?

My mom's Vietnamese flan recipe. Is it the best flan recipe in the world according to food critics? Probably not, but this is the way my mom made it so it holds a special place in my heart.


Mom's Banh Flan Ingredients: 6 eggs 1 can sweetened condensed milk Milk (enough to fill 3 of the sweetened condensed milk cans) 1 cup sugar A pinch of ground coffee Directions: In a large bowl, put eggs, sweetened condensed milk, and milk. Mix until it has even consistency and color. Set aside.

In a hot pan, put sugar and coffee. Melt at medium heat until all sugar has just melted.

Immediately pour into a pan that will hold all the egg mixture and fit into a steamer.

Coat the sides of the pan with sugar mixture so that later on the egg mixture won’t stick to the sides. Put the pan into cold water. Cool the pan and sugar until it’s hard and cool.

Mix the egg mixture a little in case it settled. Put it into the pan with the sugar.

Cook in a steam cooker until when you poke it with a stick no water comes up (~30min). Take the pan out and let it cool to room temperature, then put it in the fridge and eat when it’s cold.



77 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page