top of page

What's on my playlist: February Edition


As a music therapist, I listen to music a lot. Sometimes to learn a new song for a student/client/patient, and sometimes I'm just jamming in my car between places. Below are a few of the latest tracks I'm digging both for personal, and for work. Comment below with your fave songs of the moment, or old classics :)

  • Katelyn Tarver "You Don't Know." This song's powerful, serious lyrics, and gorgeous melody make it a possible choice for teens, and adults. Possible ideas on how to use this in a session could be lyric analysis, drawing or free writing while listening, simple songwriting (i.e. personalizing lyrics), and of course playing/singing. Click HERE for the song.

  • Meghan Trainer "Better When I'm Dancing." I LOVE THIS SONG!!!! It's adorable, and great for all ages. I like to use this song for movement activities, and the scat section is a great place to encourage vocalizations, word approximations, and work on those oral motor skills. Check out this song HERE

  • Alessia Cara "How Far I'll Go." from Moana. This catchy tune is another one that's fit for all ages. This was requested by some of my kiddos and I like to play it on ukulele for an added Hawaiian feel. Possible ideas include group singing with turns for solos (which works on impulse control, and turn taking). Instrumental improvisation is fun with this one because there are so many ways to jam with it. You'll find this lovely song HERE.

  • Shawn Mendes "Believe." This is a cool song about believing in yourself. It's upbeat with a simple and repetitive chorus that is easy for people to join in on singing. This song could be used as a segue way into talking about self-esteem, kindness, friendship and so forth. Click HERE to listen!

  • Imagine Dragons "Demons." I learned this one on request, but had always felt it was fitting for music therapy due to the lyric content. Depending on the group you could do solos, lyric analysis, etc.

Other artists I like to listen to (personal choices) include: Muse, Keane, A Fine Frenzy, Sara Bareilles, James Arthur, Hillsong United, AC/DC, Gin Blossoms, Foreigner, Alex Mendham Band, and so forth. Happy listening friends! Don't forget to comment below with faves you like to use in your sessions, or music you jam to in the car between gigs!


17 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page