top of page

Getting to know...Gaelynn Lea!


I recently had the pleasure of chatting with talented violinist/fiddle player, Gaelynn Lea. She is a native of Minne

sota, and the 2016 winner of NPR's Tiny Desk Contest. Her inspiring story, and beautiful original music led me to want to know more about her and the great music she creates. Check out our interview below! Her website is violinscratches.com and she has albums out for purchase on iTunes, Amazon, CD Baby and other fine online retailers. Don't forget to like her Facebook page as well, found here. https://www.facebook.com/gaelynnlea/?fref=ts

What drew you to string instruments as opposed to woodwinds, brass etc?

When I was in 4th grade the orchestra from the middle school came to my elementary school and I remember I loved the sound and thought "Wow that's what I want to do." It was being introduced to the full sound of the orchestra.

What inspired you to switch to fiddle music?

When I was in HS I had as crush on a boy who played fiddle and he took me and friends to an open jam. We went and learned tunes by ear. It was my first experience learning by ear and it was very community based. In college I was a political science major and took orchestra and it took up a lot of time for one credit. But there was a fiddle group that played Celtic music, and I did that all through college. It was a way I had stayed connected as a non-music major, and I met others who played fiddled and it was a nice community and a fun vibe. That's what turned me on to that music. Now, I do a lot of improvisation as well.

You have certainly been an inspiration to me, and I am sure countless people with and without disabilities. I admire your resilience and creativity. How do you feel about being a beacon of hope and encouragement for those wanting to learn an instrument?

It's interesting because when I started playing I had a very encouraging teacher who helped me to adapt my style of playing. She was careful to point out what was possible rather than focusing on potential barriers. As a teacher now, I know that it’s important for me to provide the same kind of encouragement to my students. As far as being an inspiration goes, I don’t play specifically to inspire others. I just love music and happen to be living in a body which requires me to adapt my style of playing. It’s not some mysterious or heroic feat that I play music and I certainly don’t want or need anyone’s pity because of my disability.

But on the other hand, if it can inspire other people to start playing for the first time or begin again, that makes me happy. The more people playing music in the world, the better. I believe that music is essential in a world that often contains a lot of darkness – it connects us to beauty. So ever since the Tiny Desk Contest was announced I’ve been getting the occasional email saying that my performance pushed someone to take up music – that was an unexpected surprise but I think it’s awesome. More music is a positive thing; especially among people with disabilities. The reason I play is because the music teacher was open minded, and if it inspires others to have an open mind about what is possible for them than that's what is exciting. I think you should do what makes you happy. If people with disabilities play music and learn from it and enjoy it, that's what matters more than anything. Just because someone doesn't play an instrument by the book doesn't mean there is anything wrong. For example, I don't use my fourth finger, but I am able to adapt and perform anyway. Music is so much more than having a particular technique absolutely perfected.

What's your practice regime look like? Do you have any "go to" violin etudes or fiddle songs you play regularly? Scales are important, knowing key signatures are important. I like some etudes, but a lot of what I practice is working with the looping pedal and building chords a note at a time, to get the timing right. And I like learning new fiddle tunes. That's one thing I love about teaching is learning new things. And I think someday I'd like to take classical lessons again.

What, and who has inspired you on your musical journey?

My parents introduced to music at a young age, and they were really influential. And my first music teacher who helped me learn to play. I also had a teacher in high school who helped me prepare a solo, Beethoven's Romance in F major. He taught me not to show fear while you're playing because the audience will see it. Also, the guy who I played the Tiny Desk Concert with, Alan Sparhawk, he taught me about the looping pedal. I feel really grateful to a lot of people, there are too many to name.

Musically I like Simon and Garfunkel, I hear harmonies and I like putting them down with my violin and voice. I also like the poet e.e. cummings. I used to read his stuff all the time.

You are a wonderful songwriter and naturally poetic lyricist. What is your favorite part of the creative process?

My favorite part is when you have an idea and you can't get it out of your head. I like the energy when you have the idea that you know is going to be your next song. It's such an exciting feeling. And in terms of the creative process also is I like coming up original lyrics and fine tuning them to be more unique or descriptive. There's always ways to refine it to be more unique. Sometimes it takes a long time and once you have the framework then it's fine tuning. I love working with words. One line comes in a burst of inspiration and it can be a struggle to figure the rest of the song out, but it's fun to see it come to its final shape.

What 3 albums are on top of your cd stack?

Simon and Garfunkel’s complete set. I really like “In the Aeroplane over the Sea” by Neutral Milk Hotel. I really like Mason Jennings. I like making mix tapes too and arranging songs in the perfect order. I listen to a lot of live music in my town. There's a lot of really good music in Duluth and that's inspiring.

With the success of the NPR Tiny Desk contest, what plans do you have for albums and tours?

NPR is arranging a four city tour NYC, Chicago, California, and Oregon. I hope to tour more after that is done, though I am not sure where yet. I would eventually like to make a Christmas album with live looping of traditional carols. And in terms of original songs, I play with The Murder of Crows and we are thinking about an album in the summer. Right now, I have a couple of songs in my head and I am planning to work on writing on more songs this summer.

If you could leave advice for yourself now to yourself in the past what would you say?

I guess it would be to do the best that you can and not worry so much. Be the best version of yourself as you can be, musically. It would have been nice to leave high school with that realization – that you don't have to rank and compare because music is so much more. Don't compare yourself to others.

I read this quote: "Finding your passion is a life time is fear facing." Fear of rejection, fear of performing, but if it's something you know you want to do you just live with the fact that it might get scary. Performing is something I want to do and it's okay if I feel nervous.

8 views0 comments
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page